relationship rhetoric

30’s Dating and Romantic Inquiries Application


Don’t you wish you could cut through all the red tape, and ask the questions that really matter when it comes to finding out more about a potential mate?  It’s sad that it has come to this, but wouldn’t it be great if we didn’t have to rely on uninformative Google, Facebook and background searches to find out pertinent and viable information about our dates?  Being forthright about what type of relationship you desire and past or present responsibilities could save both parties a lot of time and heartache, but many fail to do so.

If I could request that each potential suitor complete and sign an application prior to even the first date, this is how the form would look:

30thoughts Dating and Romantic Inquiries Application

When approached, I would simply hand the interested party a business card with a link to the application.  Once he has completed and submitted the application, I will review it and contact him if I am interested or do nothing if I’m not interested.

If you feel so inclined, feel free to either use the form I’ve created or formulate your own.  If this process can be used to apply for jobs, why shouldn’t it be applicable to dating too? After all, getting married is one of the most important things you will ever do in this life, so finding the right mate should be taken just as seriously.

If you were presented with a dating application, would you complete it? What would you add or take away from the one I created?  Do you think such an application process would help to alleviate misunderstandings and uncertainty as to the intent of the parties involved?

Discussion

4 thoughts on “30’s Dating and Romantic Inquiries Application

  1. Great idea! I would add questions about credit history (and score) and how many children (and baby’s mothers) they have.

    Posted by Kenya W. | January 26, 2013, 1:20 AM
    • Dang credit history before they even get a date?? That seems more like a relationship question. I take it if the suitor has a low credit score, he’s out?? I tried to cover baby’s mamas in relationship history 🙂

      Posted by 30thoughts | January 26, 2013, 1:23 AM
  2. This was funny and I’m sure you had fun doing it but in truth it’s no different than asking all of those questions. If someone handed me that I would give them it back. I don’t believe that the application will significantly do anything because how you feel now is not necessarily how you will in a year’s time. Contracts are broken so what makes the application any different. Lies will be told either way so that’s another thing. (do you really think someone will write down if they had or have an STD and name it?)

    Posted by petersburgh | January 26, 2013, 1:45 AM
    • The app will not be handed out. A card to access the app will be given to someone who might have approached me while I was out and about that piqued my interest. This would be the prelude to a date.
      Sure ppl lie, but for some reason ppl think twice when putting something in writing. They can’t say you never asked AND they can’t lie and say they told you. Also, this will hold up better in court bc anyone who passes me STD is going to have major legal and personal problems.
      Before lying in writing, most ppl simply wouldn’t answer the question. Besides, I didn’t say they would be eliminated based on their answer to that question like I did with the high school education lol.
      Although I was joking when I wrote this, I don’t think it would be such a bad idea. It would save time and drama when dating.

      Posted by 30thoughts | January 26, 2013, 2:01 AM

Leave a comment

Today, 30 thought:

Basketball is like that fine chick that's exciting but she's ALWAYS around. You get bored quickly. Football is that chick that gives you just enough, but keeps you wanting more...

Goodreads